Devils Punchbowl subpeak 4600+ 11/22/17

TRs for the San Gabriel Mountains.
AW~

Post by AW~ »

So like DavidR, I went off to the high desert to bag a peak, but this one was 500ft and 1 mile....supposedly.
Ive been coming here ,for I think 4 years, at autumn, so each time its looks the same as it always has. This time there was no snow on the PVR mountain tops though.
Each time Ive been here, Ive gone a different route, and each time its been the same type of features, but it seems to always deliver a solid surprise while being an excellent half-day.
This time, I was looking to get on top of a subpeak on the lower part of a ridge I call punchdrunk. It divides Devils Chair and Punchbowl. And like its companion ridge on the east, it has a upper and lower section.

From the punchbowl area, the only landmark that matters is a 300ft high slab that shoots up into the sky and this subpeak doesnt stand out.
On the east side of the ridge it stands out while driving the road, or from the south. Thats devils punchbowl for you.
I noticed on the maps it looked easier to approach from the south so off I went early morning.

I dont think I gained 100ft before the plan went sideways.It looked like the drainage went straight up so I took a left and ended up cliffed out.I went back down and up the earlier drainage it tossed me onto the east side of the main ridge. From there I saw the sub-peak. It sure didnt look only 400ft higher. I took a direct approach at it and ended up at a the bottom of dome that was I figured was at least 200ft high. So I went around it by dropping into this subpeak's main canyon and then bypassing the 'watercourse' to gain elevation. That got me within 30ft of the top....but it could have been 500 because there was no way I could gain the last part.