Satori on San Jacinto--2007

Archived TRs for ranges in California.
Dave G

Post by Dave G »

It was three years ago today that Norma R and I took an (albeit self-taught) “Introduction to Winter Mountaineering” course on San Jacinto, nearly fell off an icy rock face in the dark, were forced to bivy, suffered early stages of both hypothermia and heatstroke, and avoided a SAR call-out by only fifteen minutes. We felt that a re-telling of the story might serve as a cautionary tale for some; comic relief for others. :lol:

Cy and Norma getting ready at the TH

My winter experience had been somewhat limited to this point; Norma even more so, as evidenced by the price tag dangling from her newly-purchased crampons. We followed Cy Kaicener—undisputed authority of all things Skyline—up the trail from the Palm Springs Museum. We were having a great time talking with Cy and before long we hit the first snow at around 4,000’. Cy doesn’t hike in snow, so he turned back after admonishing us to be careful and issuing a stern warning that the routefinding would be tricky as we climbed higher. But we could see and hear the dang tram and were seasoned Sierra regulars—how hard could it be?

We say bye-bye to Cy @ ~4,000’

Norma further up the trail

As we climbed higher the snow got much deeper but thankfully we found a nice snowshoe track which kept the postholing to a minimum. Only problem was, the guy who made the track was lost and by extension, now so were we! We followed the tracks all the way up to a Class 4-ish buttress below what we thought was the final ridge, when they abruptly stopped. After a couple of failed attempts to surmount the buttress, we traversed around to a notch on the ridge which revealed a long, narrow valley. Neither of us had been on the mountain before so we thought, “Hey, maybe this is Long Valley, which means we’re really close!” Not even. In fact, we didn’t even know how close we weren’t since we didn’t have a map.

Climbing higher