Western Wallflower?

Poppies & cougars & shrooms, oh my!
turtle

Post by turtle »

Can anyone confirm whether this is in fact a Western Wallflower?

My searches of the Internets suggests that it is Erysimum capitatum ssp. lompocense but the pictures I'm finding are not an exact match. I'm new to the wildflower game and don't have a good sense of how much variation there is even within a subspecies.

Thanks!
PackerGreg

Post by PackerGreg »

That is the Genus-species of Wallflower in the San Gabriels, but that subspecies (ssp.) lompocense means that it is named for the city of Lompoc, north of Santa Barbara, and in fact the link calls it the San Louis Obispo Wallflower. There may be quite a few subspecies of Erysimum capitatum endemic to isolated regions throughout its range.

From Cliff & Gabi Mclean's Plants of Eaton Canyon CD...

Western Wallflower
(Erysimum capitatum)
Mustard Family
(Brassicaceae)

Western Wallflower is a biennial or short-lived perennial herb, in the Mustard family, that stands between 1 and 3 feet tall. It often grows—true to its name—on rocky outcrops. The showy, yellow-orange flowers at the top of the stems draw your attention like a beacon. This plant has long, narrow leaves on the lower stem.

Leaves: Western Wallflower, like most species in the Mustard family, has both a rosette of basal leaves and leaves that grow on the stems. The dark green leaves are long and narrow, and sometimes have a sparsely toothed edge.

Flowers: The bright yellow-orange flowers have 4 petals and, like all members of the Mustard family, 6 stamens (4 long ones and 2 short ones). The flowers are in clusters at the ends of the stems. The stems continue growing, with new flowers forming as they grow, while the spent flowers, below, produce fruits.