Baldy summit on a bike

TRs for the San Gabriel Mountains.
dima

Post by dima »

I don't think of myself as a "mountain biker", but I've been doing more of that recently. And this was a trip to be able to make that claim.

I started riding on Wed night in central LA. The MTB is clearly slower than a road bike, but it's really not that bad: I was averaging 17-18mph on the straights. Met up with Taco in Azusa, and rode together to Claremont and up Mt Baldy road. The sun came up somewhere between Mt Baldy village and Manker Flat. Eventually we arrived at the ski lifts, and got the obligatory photo

The ski lifts parking lot is the end of the pavement. The connector road between the parking lot and the road to the Notch is chunky and way too steep to ride. Once up on the road, it's plenty rideable, and we were up at the Notch in no time. We took one of the ski runs to the top of the lift on the West side. It was too steep, and we walked most of it. I think there's a rideable road option too somewhere. The Devil's Backbone area is really picturesque. I never come up here, and it was cool to see it again. A photo of the trail, NOT of the cool views to either side:

Most of this wasn't rideable, as expected. But it was also relatively short. Eventually you get to the traverse around Harwood, which is rideable and has views.

The final climb to the summit is also not rideable. As expected. Eventually we were done, and got the other obligatory photos

This was a Thursday morning. There were a few people here, but it wasn't mobbed at all. When we left, there were 3 others at the peak.