Kit List *BRAINSTORM THREAD*

Clothes, tools, technology, nutrition, training, techniques, etc.
Taco

Post by Taco »

I don't mean for this to be a sort of rethought or reinvented "10 essentials" list, but just a place to brainstorm certain key pieces of gear that one should always bring on a hike. I'm aiming more towards mountaineering, climbing, and canyoneering with some of the items, such as the radios, as when things get desperate on technical ground, well, you get the idea.

I have some of my own personal experience and opinions in here on some of the products. Your mileage may vary. Hope I don't hurt anyone's feelings when I say I feel product A is crap, and product B is tits. I just want to cut out the bullshit items that slow you down, and only carry versatile pieces of gear that actually last.

Please add your two cents. This thread is basically a list that's gonna be "under construction" for a long time.

-=WHISTLES=-

The folks I've seen use whistles most efficiently thus far are Canyoneers. Canyoneers typically have to deal with a torrent of water crashing down around them, making verbal communication impractical. A couple blasts on a good whistle is easy to do, requires little energy, and is easy to understand.

For general mountaineering, one can use a whistle to communicate in the same manner, and also to communicate over long distances when or if a party becomes separated.

In bad (good, IMHO) weather, a whistle is a helluva lot easier to understand than yelling. Often times a climber says too much when they really just need to convey a point, such as "you're on belay!", or "I'm off rope/clipped into the anchor!".

My personal choice is the Fox 40 Micro Safety.
http://www.fox40world.com/index.cfm?DSP ... og&id=4130