North Wash Canyoneering

Archived TRs for ranges outside California.
cougarmagic

Post by cougarmagic »

I have a lot of experience in California canyons, spent a few years scrambling around off trail in Arizona, and some experience in Zion. I have never (never EVER) been in a North Wash slot before. How hard could it be? I've been in Buckskin Gulch! 4 days of that sounds like fun! I even packed some kneepads.

The forecast for Southeastern Utah was not inspiring. A few preceeding weeks of unusually cold, wet weather meant struggling to leave warm sleeping bags in the morning, in order to go play in near-freezing muddy pools, instead of jumping out of bed on sunny mornings to go play in comfortably cool overgrown sandboxes.

Sometimes the epic chooses you though, and since Kirk and I already scheduled time off from work and couldn't come up with a better plan, we decided to give it a go.

I was in the uncomfortable place of being the least experienced in our group of seven. Two of the seven being Tom and Ram. Kind of like taking the ol' 10 speed out for a spin with Lance Armstrong....

They picked an 'easy' canyon for the first afternoon. Shimrock. Sounds cute. A beautiful hike up the slickrock gave stunning views of the snow blanketed Henry mountains in the distance. Pure white peaks rising sharply from red desert, and clear blue skies the likes of which Los Angeles has never seen.

At the drop in, we had some food for energy, and suited up in cushioned layers and harnesses. The group drops into the canyon one by one, and I, perhaps feeling the effects of a lunch consisiting of half a tube of Pringles and some trail mix heavy on the M&Ms, suddenly feel a sickening urge to hurl. The anxiety from the idea of my first impression being one of turning this pristine canyon into a hazmat scene didn't help. A few minutes of solitude and some deep breaths bring me back into control, and I rush down the canyon to catch up.